LGBT Ireland General Election 2020 Priorities


LGBTI+ Priorities for Next Government


On February 8th 2020, your vote in the Irish general election will be crucial to decide the future of Ireland. LGBT Ireland has launched a “Recommendations & Priorities for Government” Strategy Document which documents and highlights a number of key issues that need to be progressed if we are to achieve full equality for LGBTI+ people living in Ireland.

This election has the potential to set the political agenda for the next decade. It is fundamentally important that all politicians and soon to be legislators are aware of the issues still facing our community and commit to addressing discrimination through legislative reform and investment in services.


The document focuses on key issues facing LGBTI+ people in Ireland such as:


  • Hate Speech & Hate Crime
  • LGBTI+ Family Rights
  • Conversion Therapy
  • LGBTI+ people in the Asylum Process
  • Intersex People
  • Gender Recognition
  • A healthcare service that meets the needs of the entire LGBTI+ population

If you are a candidate:

Please engage with our document and show that you share our vision for Ireland and a better future for all LGBTI+ people by sharing out document using #LGBTI2020.

If you are a voter:

Make yourself aware of which candidates share your ideas for a fair and just society and make sure to vote for LGBTI+ friendly and aware candidates.


Recommendations and Priorities for Government: General Election 2020


List of Supportive Candidates


We will be updating this blog post with a list of candidates that have publically shown their support and committed to progressing LGBTI+ issues and rights.

  • Brendan Howlin – Leader of Labour Party – Wexford
  • Mary Lou McDonald – Leader of Sinn Féin – Dublin Central
  • Eamon Ryan – Leader of The Green Party – Dublin Bay South
  • Catherine Murphy – Co-Leader Social Democrats – Kildare North
  • Leo Varadkar – Leader of Fine Gael – Dublin West
  • Niall Ó Tuathail – Social Democrats – Galway West
  • Collette Finn – Green Party – Cork North-West
  • Jerry Buttimer – Fine Gael – Cork South-Central
  • John Maher – Labour – Cork North-Central
  • Sinead Halpin – Social Democrats – Cork North-Central
  • Paudie Dineen – Independant – Cork South-Central
  • Ciara Kennedy – Labour – Cork South-Central
  • Thomas Gould – Sinn Féin – Cork North-Central
  • TJ Hogan – Independant – Cork North-Central
  • Adrienne Wallace – Solidarity People Before Profit – Carlow-Kilkenny
  • Malcolm Noone –  Green Party – Carlow-Kilkenny
  • John James McGuinness – Fianna Fáil – Carlow-Kilkenny
  • Martin Bret – Fine Gael – Carlow-Kilkenny
  • Pippa Hackett – Green Party – Laois-Offaly
  • Jim O’Callaghan – Finna Fáil – Dublin Bay South
  • Pauline O’Reilly – Green Party – Galway West
  • Joe Loughnane – People Before Profit – Galway West
  • Conor Burke – Solidarity – Galway West
  • Neil McNeilis – Labour Party – Galway West
  • Joe Daly – People Before Profit – Mayo
  • Michael White – Green Party – Donegal
  • Richard Boyd Barrett – People Before Profit – Dún Laoghaire
  • Fergus O’Dowd – Fine Gael – Louth
  • Declan Breathnach – Fianna Fáil – Louth
  • John McGahon – Fine Gael – Louth
  • Audrey Fergus – People Before Profit – Louth
  • Ged Nash – Labour Party – Louth
  • Ruairí Ó Murchú – Sinn Féinn – Louth
  • Ciaran McCarthy – Social Democrats – Cork North West
  • Patricia O’Dwyer – Social Democrats – Cork South Central
  • Holly Cairns – Social Democrats – Cork South West
  • Cian O’Callaghan – Social Democrats – Dublin Bay North
  • Sarah Durcan – Social Democrats – Dublin Bay South
  • Gary Gannon – Social Democrats – Dublin Central
  • Paul Mulville – Social Democrats – Dublin Fingal
  • Róisín Shortall – Co-Leader Social Democrats – Dublin North West
  • Tara Deacy – Social Democrats – Dublin South Central
  • Carly Bailey – Social Democrats – Dublin South West
  • Aengus Ó Maoláin – Social Democrats – Dublin West
  • Dave Quinn – Social Democrats – Dun Laoghaire
  • Peter Reid – Social Democrats – Galway East
  • Linda Hayden – Social Democrats – Kildare South
  • Jenny Blake – Social Democrats – Limerick City
  • Ronan Moore – Social Democrats – Meath West
  • Jennifer Whitmore – Social Democrats – Wicklow
  • Roisin Garvey – Green Party – Clare
  • Paul Hayes – Sinn Féin – Cork South-West
  • Nessa Cosgrove – Labour Party – Sligo/Leitrim

Statements of Support

Regional General Election Events


Cork Event with LINC and Gay Project

Pictured are, Kate Moynihan, CEO of LINC, Paula Fagan, CEO LGBT Ireland, Padraig Rice, Gay Project Coordinator, with election candidatres and meeting attendees, at the meeting of local General Election candidates and Cork’s two LGBTI+ NGOs, LINC and the Gay Project have joined together with LGBT Ireland to set out the LGBTI priorities for the next government, at LINC offices, White Street, Cork.
Picture: Jim Coughlan


Galway Event with AMACH! LGBT Galway

Kilkenny Event with Kilkenny LEADER Partnership and OUT For The Weekend


Dundalk Event with Dundalk Outcomers

Outcomers hustings- L-R Anthony Kinehan Drogheda Outcomers, Collette from LGBT Ireland, Fergus O’Dowd FG, Bernie from Dundalk Outcomers, Declan Breathnach FF, John McGahon FG, Audrey Fergus PBP, Dominic Hannigan LAB (standing in for Ged Nash) (Ruairí Ó Murchú SF was also in attendance)